We use cookies.
By using the site, you agree to our Privacy Policy.

Year of birth
Academic degree

Distinguished professor of the Laboratory of Climate and Environment Studies of the Institute Pierre Simon Laplace, French Alternative Energies and Atomic Energy Commission (France)

Member of the French Economic, Social and Environmental Council (France)

Member of the Board of the European Knowledge and Innovation Community (European Union)

Chair of the International Academic Council of the Ural Federal University (Russia)

Research supervisor of the Laboratory of Climate and Environmental Physics of the Institute of Natural Sciences and Mathematics of the Ural Federal University (Russia)

General information

Leading scientist's research interests: Earth studies, paleoclimatology, physics and chemistry of the atmosphere, hydrological and carbon cycles, greenhouse effect, climate and environment change, climate modeling, climate of the past, the future and the present

Quote by the head of the laboratory: Nothing is permanent – even permafrost in Siberia.

Scientific recognition

Awards and achievements:

2012 – Vetlesen Prize (counterpart of the Nobel Prize in Earth studies).

2012 – Officer of the Legion of Honor (France).

2012 – Prince Albert II of Monaco Prize for research in the field of climate change.

2007 – Co-laureate of the Nobel Peace Prize as a member of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change.

2006 – D. Louis Prize of the Institute of France (co-laureate).

2003 – Revelle Medal of the American Geophysical Union.

2003 – Chevalier of the Legion of Honor.

2002 – Co-laureate of the Gold Medal of the French National Centre for Scientific Research.

2000 – Ippolito Prize (National Academy of the Sciences of Italy).

1999 – Co-laureate of the French Academy of Sciences

1997 – Milankovic Medal (European Geosciences Union).

1992 – Co-laureate of the Philip Morris Prize in climatology.

1990 – Academia Europeana Award.

Hide Show full
Other laboratories and scientists
Hosting organization
Field of studies
Invited researcher
Time span of the project
Laboratory of Self-healing Construction Materials

Peter the Great St.Petersburg Polytechnic University

Mechanics and machinery

St. Petersburg

Kordas Georgios



Research Laboratory for the Mechanics of Bio-compatible Materials and Devices

Perm National Research Polytechnic University

Mechanics and machinery


Silberschmidt Vadim

United Kingdom


Laboratory of Digitalisation, Analysis and Synthesis of Complex Mechanical Systems, Networks and Environments

Institute for Problems in Mechanical Engineering of the Russian Academu of Sciences

Mechanics and machinery

St. Petersburg

Fridman Emilia Moiseevna