We use cookies.
By using the site, you agree to our Privacy Policy.

Year of birth
Academic degree
Field of studies

Director of Institut de Lumière Extrême (France)

General information

Leading scientist's research interests: Laser physics and nonlinear optics

Quote by the head of the laboratory: In leading countries people have already understood that modern economics is the economics of knowledge. Realization of this tendency is obviously coming to Russia as well.

Scientific recognition

Awards and achievements:

2018 – Nobel Prize in Physics

2016 – Frederic Ives Medal

2009 – Charles Hard Townes Award by the Optical Society of America.

2005 – Willis E. Lamb Award

2004 – IEEE LEOS Quantum Electronics Award.

1999 – IEEE David Sarnoff Award.

1995 – R. W. Wood Prize by the Optical Society of America

1995 – A. D. Moore Distinguished Professor Emeritus in Computer Sciences and Applied Physics of the University of Michigan

Hide Show full
Other laboratories and scientists
Hosting organization
Field of studies
Invited researcher
Time span of the project
Laboratory of Self-healing Construction Materials

Peter the Great St.Petersburg Polytechnic University

Mechanics and machinery

St. Petersburg

Kordas Georgios



Research Laboratory for the Mechanics of Bio-compatible Materials and Devices

Perm National Research Polytechnic University

Mechanics and machinery


Silberschmidt Vadim

United Kingdom


Laboratory of Digitalisation, Analysis and Synthesis of Complex Mechanical Systems, Networks and Environments

Institute for Problems in Mechanical Engineering of the Russian Academu of Sciences

Mechanics and machinery

St. Petersburg

Fridman Emilia Moiseevna