Attraction of the leading scientists to Russian institutions of higher learning, research organizations of the governmental academies of sciences, and governmental research centers of the Russian Federation

Arctic ecosystems ecological security laboratory

About Laboratory

Grant Agreement No.:  14.Y26.31.0009

Project name:  Development of methodologies for monitoring, assessment, forecasting and prevention of risks related to transfer of toxic pollutants through biological pathways capable of accumulating in trophic chains and spreading in Arctic ecosystems.

Name of the institution of higher learning: Federal State Autonomous Educational Institution of Higher Education "Northern (Arctic) Federal University named afte M.V. Lomonosov"

Fields of scientific research:  Health sciences

Main goals:

Reduction of economic and demographic consequences of health disorders of population living in the Arctic zone of the Russian Federation (further on – AZRF) due to uncontrolled transfer to the environment of toxic pollutants (further on – dangerous pollutants).

Increasing efficiency of chemical population safety.

Development of national and regional biological monitoring systems, forecasting and management of risks related to uncontrolled dissemination of dangerous pollutants with migrating species of commercial birds, fish and animals to the Arctic (further on – through biological pathways).

Main objectives:

1) Socio-economic assessment of risks for human health disorders and demographic consequences connected with penetration of toxic and radioactive pollutants in human body, capable of accumulating in food chains and spreading with migrating species of commercial fish, birds and wildlife (further on – through biological pathways);

2) assessment of impact of predicted climate change on the increase of volumes of transboundary dangerous pollutants penetrating to high latitudes through biological pathways;

3) development of methodologies of early detection, monitoring and combating risks connected with transboundary transfer of dangerous pollutants to the Arctic through biological pathways;

4) development of a model on the assessment and forecasting risks of negative health impact related to transfer and dissemination of dangerous pollutants through biological pathways;

5) identification, analysis and characteristic of main factors of risk for population health and development of methodological recommendations on their reduction in the course of catch, processing and sale of food products made of migrating commercial species of fish, birds and animals;

6) development of main requirements for establishing international and national information systems of early detection, monitoring and assessment of risks of dissemination of dangerous pollutants through biological pathways;

7) development of policies of informing state government bodies and local governments, as well as population living in AZRF of management of risks in the field of chemical safety.

Addressing the above main tasks of the project is planned to be implemented on the basis of the formed international interdisciplinary research laboratory of Arctic biomonitoring.

Leading scientist

yngvar thomassen 

Thomassen Yngvar

 

Date of Birth:  25.03.1947

Citzenship: Norway

Academic degree and title: Candidatus realium, Analytical Chemistry

Job Title: National Institute of Occupational Health

Field of scientific interests: biochemistry, analytical chemistry, toxicology of metals and persistent organochlorine compounds, environmental and occupational human health, quality assurance

Academic recognition:  

Thomassen is the author or co-author of 190 scientific publications, the majority focusing on atomic spectrometry and other spectrometric methods for the determination of essential and toxic elements with special emphasis on electrothermal atomic absorption spectrometry. In recent years more focus has been given to other spectrometric methods as inductively coupled plasma atomic emission and mass spectrometry. His main scientific activity during the last ten years has been in the field of environmental and occupational exposure characterisation and assessment in human health studies.

Thomassen has initiated and organised a large number of national, nordic and international conferences on topics dealing with analytical chemistry, atomic spectroscopy and environmental and biological issues.

Back to top

МЕГАГРАНТЫ

Лаборатория Арктического биомониторинга

О лаборатории

Лаборатория создана в рамках гранта Правительства Российской Федерации, выделенного на конкурсной основе для государственной поддержки научных исследований, проводимых под руководством ведущих ученых в российских образовательных учреждениях высшего профессионального образования (постановление правительства №220 от 9 апреля 2010 года).

№ договора:

14.Y26.31.0009

Наименование проекта
Разработка методологии мониторинга, оценки, прогнозирования и предупреждения рисков, связанных с переносом биологическими путями высокотоксичных загрязняющих веществ, способных накапливаться в пищевых цепях и распространяться в арктических экосистемах.

Наименование организации
Федеральное государственное автономное образовательное учреждение высшего образования "Северный (Арктический) федеральный университет имени М.В.Ломоносова"

Область научных исследований
Науки о здоровье

Основные цели:
Снижение экономических и демографических последствий нарушения здоровья населения, проживающего в Арктической зоне Российской Федерации (далее - АЗРФ), вследствие неконтролируемого переноса в среду обитания высокотоксичных загрязняющих химических веществ (далее - опасных загрязняющих веществ).
Повышение эффективности химической безопасности населения.
Разработка национальной и региональных систем биологического мониторинга, прогнозирования и управления рисками, связанными с неконтролируемым распространением опасных загрязняющих веществ с мигрирующими видами промысловых птиц, рыб и диких животных в Арктику (далее - биологическими путями).
Основные задачи:
1) социально-экономическая оценка рисков нарушений здоровья населения и демографических последствий вследствие поступления в организм человека опасных загрязняющих веществ, способных накапливаться в пищевых цепях и распространяться с мигрирующими видами промысловых рыб, птиц и диких животных (далее - биологическими путями);
2) оценка влияния прогнозируемых климатических изменений на увеличение объемов трансграничных переносов опасных загрязняющих веществ, поступающих в высокие широты биологическими путями;
3) разработка методологии раннего обнаружения, мониторинга и противодействия угрозам, связанным с трансграничным переносом в Арктику опасных загрязняющих веществ биологическими путями;
4) разработка модели по оценке и прогнозированию рисков вредного воздействия на организм человека, связанных с переносом и распространением опасных загрязняющих веществ биологическими путями;
5) выявление, анализ и характеристика основных факторов риска для здоровья населения и разработка методических рекомендаций по их снижению при добыче, переработке и реализации пищевой продукции из мигрирующих промысловых видов рыб, птиц и диких животных;
6) разработка основных требований к созданию международной и национальной информационной системы раннего обнаружения, мониторинга и оценки рисков трансграничного переноса и распространения опасных загрязняющих веществ биологическими путями;
7) разработка политики информирования органов государственной власти и местного самоуправления, а также населения, проживающего в АЗРФ по управлению рисками в сфере химической безопасности.
Решение вышеперечисленных основных задач проекта планируется осуществлять на базе создаваемой международной междисциплинарной научно-исследовательской лаборатории арктического биомониторинга.

Ведущий учёный

yngvar thomassen 

ФИО: Томассен Ингвар

 

Дата рождения 25.03.1947

Гражданство
Норвегия

Ученые степень и звание

Кандидат химических наук

Место работы

Национальный институт профессионального здоровья

Область научных интересов

Биохимия, аналитическая химия, токсикология металлов и стойких хлорорганических соединений, экологические и профессиональные аспекты здоровья людей, обеспечение качества данных

Достижения и награды

Томассен является автором и соавтором 190 научных публикаций, большая часть из которых посвящена вопросам атомной спектрометрии и другим спектрометрическим методам определения важных и токсичных элементов с особым упором на электротермальной спектрометрии и атомной абсорбции. В последние годы большее внимание уделялось другим спектрометрическим методам, таким как индуктивно связанная плазмой атомная эмиссия и масс-спектрометрия. Наибольшее внимание в его научной деятельности в последние десять лет уделялось характеристике и оценке воздействия факторов окружающей среды и профессиональных аспектов на состояние здоровья людей.
Томассен инициировал и организовал проведение большого числа национальных конференций, конференций скандинавских стран и международных конференций по вопросам, связанным с аналитической химией, атомной спектроскопией и проблемам окружающей среды и биологии.

Back to top