Attraction of the leading scientists to Russian institutions of higher learning, research organizations of the governmental academies of sciences, and governmental research centers of the Russian Federation

«Mechanics of disordered media» laboratory

About Laboratory

Grant Agreement No.:  14.W03.31.0002

Project name: Multiscale mechanics of flow and failure in disordered porous media

Name of the institution of higher learning: Lavrentyev Institute of Hudrodynamics of Siberian of Russian Academy of Sciences

Fields of scientific research: Mechanics and engineering

Project goal: 

The goal of the project is to perform a multi-disciplinary experimental research of multi-scale flows of rheologically complex fluids in disordered porous materials, with account to possible mechanical failure and fracturing, multi-phase dynamics, particle transport and capillary effects, will be carried out. It is supposed to develop modern new directions related to creation of fluids with elastic microcapsules, research in the area of the “soft materials”, mechanics of failure of complex disordered structures, dynamics of fluid in micro-channels. Except for that, the laboratory will serve as an experimental base for the theoretical investigations developed in the Institute in the area of multiphase filtration of fluid and hydraulic fracturing of inhomogeneous porous medium, and cerebral haemodynamics. In addition to the fundamental aspect, the research will have an applied character for the pharmaceutical, chemical and medical industry, will allow significant extending of applied research for the development of technologies for intensification of oil recovery.

The objective of the project is theoretical and experimental research of fundamentals of multiscale flows of complex fluids in disordered porous media with account for possible failure of medium, complex interfacial dynamics, transport of particles, capillary effects, and fluid rheology. The main problems to be addressed within the project are the following.

1.            Fluid flows in disordered media. This direction involves the research of fronts of capillary invasion of fluid in disordered medium, electro-osmotic effects during propagation of filtration fronts, description of the multi-phase fluid inflow to a system of hydraulic fracturing, problems of mathematical modelling of cerebral hemodynamic.

2.            Flow of complex fluids. We shall investigate the transport of elastic and rigid particles by the flow, influence of particles to the fluid rheology, the bridging effect due to particle compaction, account for the inertia and micro-rotation of particles. Applications concern erythrocytes and another substance transport by the blood flows, drilling mud flows with a complex rheology, dynamics of gel with proppant in hydraulic fracturing.

3.            Failure mechanics of non-structured materials. The problem involves analysis of deformation up to failure of materials with controlled heterogeneous structure, influence of material inhomogeneity and type of materials. One of the directions of research will be the use of modern technique of 3D-printing and micro-lithography for tailor-make of samples with prescribed heterogeneous structure. We plan to perform experimental research and mathematical modelling of the hydraulic fracture in rock kerns and in the synthetic materials which meet a given internal structure. Role of inhomogeneities, porosity, plastic zones in the dynamics of the hydraulic fracturing will be investigated. It is planned to establish the scientific base for the industrial hydraulic fracturing simulator.

Effects of cross-interaction of the described effects will be analyzed: influence of non-Newtonian rheology of suspensions and proppant transport along the hydraulic fracture to the dynamics of fracture development, invasion of the capillary front of fluid in the fracture tip and its influence on the fracture strength limit of material. Similarity in mathematical modelling of coupled fluid flows of different dimensions at problems of haemodynamics and filtration in fractured medium will be used.

Leading scientist

shapeimage 1 

Santucci Stephane

 

Date of Birth: 14.09.1977

Citzenship: France

Academic degree and title: PhD

Job Title: École Normale Supérieure de Lyon

Field of scientific interests:  Intermittent avalanche dynamics in disordered elastic systems

Structure and Dynamics of fracture fronts – Fluid invasion in porous & fractured materials Formulation & Rheology of microcapsules & ultra-stable foams/emulsions

Academic recognition:  

- Invited researcher: KITP Santa-Barbara (2015), Aalto Helsinki (2015, 2012), Univ. Tokyo (2012), Oslo Univ. (2010, 2012), Univ. Barcelona (2008, 2009), IPG Strasbourg (2007), CEA Saclay (2006)

- Prime d’Excellence Scientifique, CNRS (France), (October 2011)

- Best paper, presentation as young researcher, “International Conference on Fracture” (Ottawa, 2009)

Back to top

МЕГАГРАНТЫ

Лаборатория «Механика неупорядоченных сред»

О лаборатории

Наименование проекта
Многомасштабная механика течений и разрушения в неупорядоченных пористых средах

№ договора:

14.W03.31.0002

Наименование организации
Федеральное государственное бюджетное учреждение науки Институт гидродинамики им. М. А. Лаврентьева Сибирского отделения Российской академии наук

Область научных исследований
Механика и машиностроение

Целью проекта является проведение многопрофильных экспериментальных исследований разномасштабных течений реологически сложных жидкостей в пористых средах с неупорядоченной структурой с учетом возможных деформаций и разрушений, межфазной динамики, транспорта частиц и капиллярных эффектов. Также предполагается развивать в создаваемой лаборатории современные новые направления, связанные с созданием жидкостей с упругими микрокапсулами, исследования в области «мягких материалов», механики разрушения сложных неупорядоченных структур, динамики жидкости в микроканалах. Помимо этого, лаборатория будет являться экспериментальной базой для проводимых в Институте теоретических исследований в области фильтрации многофазных жидкостей и гидроразрыва пористых неоднородных сред, гемодинамики сосудов головного мозга. Проводимые исследования помимо фундаментального направления, будут иметь прикладной характер в вопросах транспорта лекарственных и химических веществ, позволят значительно расширить спектр прикладных работ в области развития технологий интенсификации нефтедобычи.

Задачей проекта является теоретическое и экспериментальное исследование многомасштабных течений сложных жидкостей в неструктурированных пористых средах с учётом возможного разрушения среды, взаимодействия течения жидкости с имеющимися неоднородностями, переноса частиц, капиллярных эффектов, реологии жидкости. Основными задачами проекта являются:
1. Течение жидкостей в неструктурированных средах. Данное направление включает изучение фронтов капиллярного вытеснения жидкостей в неструктурированных областях, электроосмотические эффекты при продвижении фронтов фильтрации, описание притока многофазной жидкости к системе трещин гидроразрыва пласта, проблемы математического моделирования кровообращения головного мозга.
2. Течения сложных жидкостей. Будет изучаться транспорт упругих или твердых включений в жидкости, влияние включений на реологию жидкости, эффект запирания потока за счет накопления частиц, учёт инерции и микровращений частиц. Постановка прикладных задач будет связана с описанием переноса эритроцитов и других веществ течением крови, учёт сложной реологии бурового раствора, динамикой геля с проппантом при гидроразрыве пласта.
3. Механика разрушения неструктурированных материалов. Задача включает изучение неустойчивостей деформаций вплоть до разрушения образцов с контролируемой гетерогенной структурой, влияние различных материалов и типов неоднородностей. Одним из направлений проекта будет применение современных методов 3D печати и микро-литографии для создания образцов с заданной неупорядоченной структурой. Будет проведено экспериментальное исследование и математическое моделирование гидроразрыва материалов: как искусственно созданных с заданной внутренней структурой, так и кернов реальных горных пород. Будет изучено влияние неоднородностей, пористости, зон пластичности на динамику гидроразрыва, заложены научные основы создания инженерного симулятора гидроразрыва пласта.
Будут исследоваться эффекты перекрёстного взаимодействия перечисленных эффектов: влияние неньютоновской реологии суспензий и переноса проппанта по трещине гидроразрыва на динамику развития трещины, проникновение капиллярного фронта жидкости в кончике трещины и оценка этого явления на предел прочности материала, будет использоваться общность подходов математического моделирования для задач сопряжения течений разных размерностей в задачах гемодинамики и теории фильтрации в трещиноватых средах.

Ведущий учёный

shapeimage 1 

ФИО: Сантуччи Стефан

 

Дата рождения 14.09.1977

Гражданство
Франция

Ученые степень и звание

Доктор философии

Место работы

Высшая нормальная школа в Лионе

Область научных интересов

Неустойчивая лавинная динамика в неупорядоченных упругих системах
Структура и динамика фронтов разрушения – Проникновение жидкостей в пористых и fractured материалах
Рецептура и реология микрокапсул; ультра- стабильные пены / эмульсии

Достижения и награды

- Приглашённый исследователь: KITP Santa-Barbara (2015), Aalto Helsinki (2015, 2012), Univ. Tokyo (2012), Oslo Univ. (2010, 2012), Univ. Barcelona (2008, 2009), IPG Strasbourg (2007), CEA Saclay (2006)
- Prime d’Excellence Scientifique, CNRS (France), (October 2011)
- Лучшая статья, представленная молодым учёным, “International Conference on Fracture” (Ottawa, 2009)

1. M.-J. Dalbe, R. Villey, M. Ciccotti, S. Santucci, P.-P. Cortet, L. Vanel, Soft Matter (2016) Inertial and quasi-static stick-slip dynamics during the peeling of adhesive at fixed angle
2. X. Clotet, J. Ortín, S. Santucci, Phys. Rev. E 93, 012149 (2016) Experimental study of stable imbibition in a model open fracture: I. Local avalanche dynamics
3. X. Clotet, S. Santucci, J. Ortín, Phys. Rev. E 93, 012150 (2016) Experimental study of stable imbibition in a model open fracture. II. Scale-dependent avalanche dynamics,
4. M.-J. Dalbe, P.-P. Cortet, M. Ciccotti, L. Vanel, S. Santucci, Phys. Rev. Lett. 115, 128301 (2015) Multi-scale stick-slip in adhesive peeling,
5. C. Raufaste, B. Dollet, K. Mader, S. Santucci, R. Mokso, EPL, 111, 38004 (2015), Three-dimensional foam flow resolved by fast X-ray tomographic microscopy,
6. M.-J. Dalbe, J. Koivisto, L. Vanel, A. Miksic, O. Ramos, M. Alava, and S. Santucci, Repulsion and attraction between a pair of cracks in a plastic sheet Phys. Rev. Lett. 114, 205501 (2015)
7. R. Villey, C. Creton, P.-P. Cortet, M.-J. Dalbe, T. Jet, B. Saintyves, S. Santucci, L. Vanel, D.J. Yarusso, M. Ciccotti, Soft Matter 11 3480 (2015) Rate-dependent elastic hysteresis during the peeling of Pressure Sensitive Adhesives,
8. M.-J. Dalbe, S. Santucci, L. Vanel, P.-P. Cortet, Soft Matter, 10 (48), 9637 - 9643 (2014), Peeling angle dependence of the stick-slip instability during adhesive tape peeling “2014 Soft Matter Hot Papers”, CNRS International Magazine 37 (2015) Stop the Screech INP (CNRS) Press Release Décoller Scotch® rapidement et silencieusement
9. X. Clotet, J. Ortín, S. Santucci, Phys. Rev. Lett. 113, 074501 (2014), Disorder-induced capillary bursts control intermittency in slow imbibition
10. M. Stojanova, S. Santucci, L. Vanel, and O. Ramos, Phys. Rev. Lett. 112, 115502 (2014), High Frequency Monitoring Reveals Aftershocks in Subcritical Crack Growth

Back to top