Attraction of the leading scientists to Russian institutions of higher learning, research organizations of the governmental academies of sciences, and governmental research centers of the Russian Federation

Orogenic ocean belts laboratory

About Laboratory

Grant Agreement No.: 14.Y26.31.0018

Project name: A multidisciplinary study of Pacific-type orogenic belts and development of a holistic model linking evolution of oceans, their active margins and mantle magmatism

Name of the institution of higher learning: Novosibirsk State University

Fields of scientific research: Earth sciences and related environmental sciences

Project goal:

To launch a new modern research and educational laboratory and to perform a multi-disciplinary study of Pacific-type foldbelts (orogens) for developing a new holistic model linking evolution of paleo-oceans, formation and transformation of continental crust at their active margins, generation of hydrous-carbonated plumes in the mantle transition zone (MTZ) and intra-plate magmatism and evaluating prospects for the recognition of new types of mineral deposits.

1. To develop a new approach for the reconstruction of paleo-oceanic complexes of Central and East Asia based on the model of Ocean Plate Stratigraphy (OPS), which was created by many detailed studies of western Pacific (Japan) accretionary complexes. To propose a method for recognizing different oceanic plates within one paleo-ocean and evaluating their sizes and ages.

2. To estimate major parameters of the Pacific-type convergent margins of Asia from the late Neoproterozoic to the Cenozoic: (i) type of margin: accreting or eroding; (ii) type of supra-subduction complex: intra-oceanic or continental margin; (iii) length and amount of island arcs; (iv) periods of continuous subduction; (v) type of accreted OPS: pelagic, hemipelagic, trench, oceanic island/seamount/plateau.

3. For eroding margins: based on the estimated parameters of the convergent margins (see Objective 2) to define major periods of tectonic erosion of oceanic and continental materials and their subduction to the deep mantle; to evaluate the volumes of materials eroded during the whole life period of eroding margin; to distinguish the major types of materials, which can be subduction to the deep mantle: volatiles (water, carbon dioxide), oceanic crust serpentinite and basalt, continental crust; to substantiate the possibility of the accumulation of those materials in the MTZ.

4. To study the links between the periods on mantle metasomatism and (i) the periods of eroding convergent margins and (ii) the periods of continuous subduction. To correlate the periods of eroding convergent margins, the periods of mantle metasomatism and the periods of intra-plate magmatism and rifting in Central and East Asia from the late Paleozoic to the Cenozoic. To substantiate the possibility of the generation of hydrous-carbonated plumes in the MTZ as a result of synergetic interaction of subduction and continental and oceanic crust materials accumulated therein.

5. To develop a holistic model linking the evolution of paleo-oceans, the erosion and subduction of oceanic and continental crust materials at Pacific-type convergent margins, their accumulations in the MTZ, mantle metasomatism and intra-plate magmatism.

6. For accreting margins: to distinguish the major periods of accretion of evaluate the volumes of displaced OPS units, in particular, deep sea muds; to discriminate the settings of deep-sea sedimentation more favorable for the accumulation of rare-earth elements and yttrium; to estimate the potential of deep-sea sediments for those chemical elements and the prospects for the recognition of new types of mineral resources. 

Leading scientist

maruyama 

Maruyama Shigenori

 

Date of Birth: 24.12.1949

Citzenship:  Japan

Academic degree and title: PhD

Job Title: Earth-Life Science Institute, Tokyo Institute of Technology

Field of scientific interests: geology, plate tectonics, accretionary orogeny, ocean plate stratigraphy, mantle plumes, metamorphic petrology, geodynamics, Deep Earth interior, origin of Earth and Life

Academic recognition:

Professor Shigenori Maruyama is a world known and best cited expert in geology ad tectonics of Japan and other Pacific-type accretionary orogens, subduction zone petrology and dynamics, global and regional tectonics of Eurasia, and Earth system evolution. He is the author of the Model of Mantle Superplumes generated at the core-mantle boundary and the author of a new concept of Plume Tectonics, which joined seismic tomography, mantle petrology and world geology. Prof. Maruyama has supervised dozens of master’s and PhD, led many large research projects, awardee of many national and international prizes. The most important awards are “Medal with Purple Ribbon” from the Government of Japan (2006), Thomas Reuters award for high citation (2012) and Honorary Fellow of the Geological Society of America title (2014). In addition to geology and petrology, as a socially responsible scientist, he participates in the studies of climate changes, natural hazards, and origin of life on the Earth and reads public lectures.

Back to top

МЕГАГРАНТЫ

Лаборатория по изучению океанических складчатых поясов

О лаборатории

Наименование проекта Мультидисциплинарное изучение складчатых поясов тихоокеанского типа и разработка согласованной модели эволюции океанов, их активных окраин и мантийного магматизма

№ договора:

14.Z50.31.0035

Наименование проекта
Мультидисциплинарное изучение складчатых поясов тихоокеанского типа и разработка согласованной модели эволюции океанов, их активных окраин и мантийного магматизма

Наименование организации
Федеральное государственное автономное образовательное учреждение высшего образования "Новосибирский национальный исследовательский государственный университет"

Область научных исследований
Науки о Земле и смежные экологические науки

Цель проекта
Провести комплексное исследование складчатых (орогенных) поясов Тихоокеанского типа для разработки согласованной модели, связывающей эволюцию палеоокеанов, образование и преобразование континентальной коры на их активных окраинах, генерацию гидро-карбонатных плюмов в переходной зоне мантии и внутриплитный магматизм, а также для оценки перспектив выявления новых типов месторождений полезных ископаемых.

Задачи проекта

1. Разработать новый подход к реконструкции палеоокеанических комплексов центральной и восточной Азии на основе модели Стратиграфии океанической плиты (СОП) , которая была создана в результате детального изучения аккреционных комплексов западной Пацифики (Японии). Предложить методику выделения различных океанических плит в пределах одного океана и определения их размера и возраста.

2. Оценить главные параметры конвергентных окраин тихоокеанского типа Азии с позднего неопротерозоя до кайнозоя: (i) тип окраины: аккретирующий или эродирующий ; (ii) тип надсубдукционного комплекса - внутриокеанический и окраинно-континентальный; (iii) протяженность и количество островных дуг; (iv) периоды непрерывной субдукции; (v) тип аккретированной СОП (пелагический, хемипелагический, глубоководный желоб, океанический остров/симаунт/плато).

3. Для эродирующих окраин - на основе полученных параметров конвергентных окраин (см. Задачу 2) выделить главные периоды тектонической эрозии пород океанической и континентальной коры и их субдукции в мантию; оценить объемы материала, разрушенного за весь период существования эрозионной окраины. Выделить главные типы материала, которые могут субдуцировать в мантию: летучие (вода, углекислота), серпентиниты и базальты океанической коры и сиалические породы континентальной коры. Обосновать возможность накопления этих материалов в переходной зоне мантии.

4. Изучить связь периодов мантийного метасоматоза (i) с периодами существования эродирующих конвергентных окраин и (ii) с периодами непрерывной субдукции. Провести корреляцию периодов существования эродирующих окраин, мантийного метасоматоза и внутриплитного магматизма и рифтинга в центральной и восточной Азии с позднего палеозоя до кайнозоя. Обосновать возможность генерации гидро-карбонатных мантийных плюмов в переходной зоне мантии в результате синергетического взаимодействия факторов субдукции и накопления материалов континентальной и океанической коры.

5. Разработать согласованную модель, связывающую эволюцию океанов, эрозию и субдукцию материалов океанической и континентальной коры на конвергентных окраинах тихоокеанского типа, их накопление в переходной зоне мантии, мантийный метасоматоз и внутриплитный магматизм.

6. Для аккретирующих окраин - выделить главные периоды аккреции и оценить объем перемещенного материала пород СОП, особенно глубоководных илов. Определить обстановки глубоководной седиментации наиболее благоприятные для накопления редкоземельных элементов и иттрия. Оценить рудный потенциал аккретированных донных осадков и перспективы выделения новых типов полезных ископаемых.

Ведущий учёный

maruyama 

ФИО: Маруяма Шигенори

 

Дата рождения 24.12.1949

Гражданство
Япония

Ученые степень и звание

Доктор философии

Место работы

Институт наук о Земле и Жизни при Токийском институте технологий

Область научных интересов

Геология, тектоника плит, аккреционные орогены, стратиграфия океанической плиты, мантийные плюмы, метаморфическая петрология, геодинамика, глубинные оболочки Земли, происхождение Земли и жизни

Достижения и награды

Профессор Маруяма является всемирно известным и одним из наиболее цитируемым в мире специалистов в области исследования геологии и тектоники Японии и других аккреционных орогенов тихоокеанского типа, петрологии зон субдукции, глобальной и региональной тектонической истории Евразии, циклов суперконтинентов, геологической эволюции всех систем планеты Земля. Он является автором знаменитой модели мантийных суперплюмов, зарождающихся на границе "ядро-мантия" и автором новой концепции «Плюмовой тектоники», объединившей сейсмотомографию с петрологией и мировой геологией. Проф. Маруяма был руководителем десятков магистерских и докторских диссертаций, многих крупных исследовательских проектов и лауреатом национальных и международных наград. Самые известные его награды это «Медаль с пурпурной лентой» от правительства Японии (2006)  и звание Почетного члена Геологического общества Америки (2014).

Safonova I., Maruyama, S., Kojima S., Komiya T., Krivonogov S., Koshida K. Recognizing OIB and MORB in accretionary complexes: a new approach based on ocean plate stratigraphy, petrology, and geochemistry 2016 Gondwana Research 1342-937X

Safonova, I., Biske, G., Romer, R.L., Seltmann, R., Simonov, V.,Maruyama, S. Middle Paleozoic mafic magmatism and ocean plate stratigraphy of the South Tianshan, Kyrgyzstan. 2016 Gondwana
Research 1342-937X

Fujisaki, W., Sawaki, Y., Yamamoto, S., Sato, T., Nishizawa, M., Windley, B.F., Maruyama, S Tracking the redox history and nitrogen cycle in the pelagic Panthalassic deep ocean in the Middle Triassic to Early Jurassic: Insights from redox-sensitive elements and nitrogen isotopes 2016 Palaeogeography, Palaeoclimatology, Palaeoecology

Yoshiya, K., Sawaki, Y., Shibuya, T., Yamamoto, S., Komiya, T., Hirata, T., Maruyama, S. In-situ iron isotope analyses of pyrites from 3.5 to 3.2 Gasedimentary rocks of the Barberton Greenstone Belt, Kaapvaal Craton. 2015 Chemical Geology 0009-2541Safonova, I., Maruyama, S., Litasov, K. Generation of hydrous-carbonated plumes in the mantle transition zone linked to tectonic erosion and subduction. 2015 Tectonophysics 0040-1951

Back to top