Attraction of the leading scientists to Russian institutions of higher learning, research organizations of the governmental academies of sciences, and governmental research centers of the Russian Federation

Laboratory of composite and ceramic materials

About Laboratory

Grant Agreement No.: 14.Z50.31.0036

Project name: Establishment of the scientific laboratory of composite and ceramic materials for Arctic vehicles (LCCM)

Name of the institution of higher learning: Nizhny Novgorod State Technical University named after R.E. Alekseev

Fields of scientific research: Mechanics and engineering

Project goal:

The project is aimed at creating and studying of composite materials and ceramics to be used in Arctic conditions, at low temperatures, aggressive seawater environment and large mechanical loads.

Objectives:

-Estimation of microstresses and microcracking under thermal loading of polycrystalline ceramics. -Development of methods of optimal design of composite structural elements used in the extremal Arctic conditions -Examination of the possibility of replacement of traditional construction materials by composite materials, with the account of stress levels and conditions of usage of the machinery (interval of temperature, landscape). - Building a climate camera for testing that cover a broad specter of exploitation regimes for Arctic vehicles used in challenging climate conditions (temperatures -60/+60, humidity up to 90%).

-Determination of the optimal parameters of microstructure of the composite and ceramic materials (volume fraction of fillers and reinforcing elements and their orientation distribution) used in the extremal Arctic conditions, for the given combination of the mechanical and thermal properties: 1) strength and stiffness, 2) thermal barrier and thermal strength requirements, 3)minimal absorption of water and reliability in the Arctic conditions, 4) low specific weight. - Development of the methodology of monitoring of degradation of the mechanical properties, by monitoring changes in electric conductivity. - Stress analysis of composite structural elements made of composite and ceramic materials. - Estimation of improvement of exploitation characteristics (with the account of accident situations) of vehicles, accounting for the characteristics of composites - Formulation of hypotheses for accelerated climate testing and their experimental validation in a camera.

-Analysis of evolution of microstructure of the composite and ceramic materials used in the Arctic conditions, and of their effective elastic and conductive properties. - Analysis of behavior of ceramics and composites under loads close to the critical ones. - Experimental determination of physico-mechanical properties of consided materials in wide temperature interval. - Development of technical specifications and construction documents for the machine elements made of composite and ceramic materials that are necessary for transfer to outside organizations that will produce the composite and ceramic materials. - Estimate and optimization of the longtime-strength characteristics under the conditions of cyclic mechanical and thermal loading. - Experimental determination of physico-mechanical properties of consided materials in wide temperature interval.   - Testing vehicles in field conditions - Conclusion, on the possibilities of using composite materials in Arctic vehicles.

Leading scientist

facultyKachanov 

Kachanov Mark Lazarevich

 

Date of Birth: 06.08.1946

Citzenship: USA

Academic degree and title: PhD

Job Title: Tufts University

Field of scientific interests:

Mechanics of heterogeneous materials; Multiple cracking and damage.

Rough contacts: Mechanics and conductance.

Geophysics and rock mechanics; Applications to oil exploration.

Industrial Applications :

- Thermal barrier coatings

- Porous ceramics (fracture under compression, thermal loading)

- Oil exploration (multiple fractures, anisotropy, rough surfaces)

- Nano-indentation of piezoelectrics

Academic recognition:

Professor Kachanov joined Tufts in 1982 as an Associate Professor after an appointment as an Assistant Professor at Rutgers University. He became a Full Professor at Tufts University in 1988. He is an Editor-in-Chief of the "International Journal of Engineering Sciences" and of "Letters in Fracture and Micromechanics". His Science Citation Index is 3600.

Back to top

МЕГАГРАНТЫ

Лаборатория композиционных и керамических материалов

О лаборатории

Наименование проекта
Создание научной лаборатории композиционных и керамических материалов с применением к Арктическим транспортным средствам (LCCM)

№ договора:

14.Z50.31.0036

Наименование организации
Федеральное государственное бюджетное образовательное учреждение высшего образования "Нижегородский государственный технический университет им. Р.Е. Алексеева"

Область научных исследований
Механика и машиностроение

Целью работы является создание и изучение композиционных и керамических материалов для транспортных средств и конструкций, работающих в условиях Арктики при низких температурах, агрессивном влиянии морской воды и больших механических нагрузках.
Задачами проекта являются:
- Оценка микронапряжений и микрорастрескивания при термической нагрузке поликристаллических керамик; - Разработка методов оптимального проектирования композитных элементов конструкций, работающих в экстремальных условиях Арктики. - Анализ возможности замены традиционных конструкционных материалов композиционными материалами с учетом уровней напряжений и условий эксплуатации машин (интервал температур, характер ландшафта). - Создание экспериментальной климатической камеры для проведения испытаний, моделирующих широкий спектр эксплуатационных режимов для арктических транспортных сред, работающих в сложных климатических условиях (моделирование стационарных температурных режимов -60/+60, влажность до 90%).
- Определение оптимальных параметров микроструктуры композиционных и керамических материалов (объемное содержание наполнителей и армирующих элементов и их ориентационное распределение), работающих в экстремальных условиях Арктики, для заданного сочетания механических и теплофизических свойств: 1) прочности и жесткости 2) требований теплозащиты и термостойкости, 3) минимальной абсорбцией влаги и надежной работы в условиях арктического морского климата, 4) низкого удельного веса; - Разработка мониторинга деградации механических свойств посредством слежения за изменением электропроводностью. - Расчет композиционных элементов конструкций на основе полимерных и керамических материалов. - Оценка улучшения эксплуатационных свойств (с учетом аварийных ситуаций) транспортных средств с учетом характеристик композиционных материалов. - Разработка гипотез для проведения ускоренных климатических испытаний и их экспериментальная проверка в камере.
- Анализ эволюции микроструктуры композиционных и керамических материалов, работающих в условиях Арктики, и их эффективных упругих и теплопроводящих свойств. - Исследование поведения композиционной керамики и полимерных композитов при нагрузках близких к предельным. - Экспериментальное определение физико-механических свойств рассматриваемых материалов в широком диапазоне температур. - Разработка технического задания и конструкторской документации на элементы машин, выполненных из композиционных или керамических материалов, необходимых для передачи сторонним организациям для изготовления композиционных материалов и керамик. - Оценка и оптимизация характеристик длительной прочности композитов в условиях циклического механического и температурного воздействия. - Натурные испытания транспортных средств. - Составление заключения о применимости композиционных материалов в арктических транспортных средствах.

Ведущий учёный

facultyKachanov 

ФИО: Качанов Марк Лазаревич

 

Дата рождения 06.08.1946

Гражданство
США

Ученые степень и звание
Доктор философии

Место работы

Университет Тафтса

Область научных интересов

Микромеханика и наномеханика материалов. Механика множественных трещин и повреждённости.
Контакт шероховатых тел.
Геофизика и механика скальных пород.
Индустриальное приложения:
- Нефтяные проблемы (трещины и разломы в горных породах, механика горных пород насыщенных жидкостью, анизотропия скоростей волн и извлечение информации из них).
- Пористые керамики используемые в технологиях фильтрования. Поведение керамик в условиях теплового удара.
- Напыленные покрытия - тепловой барьер в газовых турбинах (связь упругих и теплоизоляционных свойств с микроструктурой).
- Нано-индентация пьезоэлектриков.

Достижения и награды

Почетная премия Фулбрайта.
Премия фонда имени Александра фон Гумбольдта для заслуженных ученых.
Главный редактор журнала International Journal of Engineering Science (Импакт фактор 2,668)

Micromechanics, Microstructure-Property Relations

Micro-Cracking, Damage

Materials Science Applications

Nano

Bio Materials

Geophysics & Rock Mechanics

Thermal Barrier Coatings

Piezoelectrics

Back to top