Attraction of the leading scientists to Russian institutions of higher learning, research organizations of the governmental academies of sciences, and governmental research centers of the Russian Federation

Mirror Symmetry Laboratory

About Laboratory

Grant Agreement No.: 14.641.31.0001

Project name: Mirror Symmetry and automorphic forms

Name of the institution of higher learning: Higher School of Economics - National Research University

Fields of scientific research: Mathematics

Project goal:

The main goal of the project is geometrization of categories. The starting point of this project is Homological Mirror Symmetry. This is one of the most fundamental conjectures of modern mathematics. It was put forward by Kontsevich and has originated in physics as a duality between superconformal quantum field theories. The project is aimed to developing of a new cutting edge direction in mathematics — Categorical Kähler Geometry. This is a totally new, bold idea under implementation Katzarkov, Kontsevich, Simpson.

Mirror symmetry, as a foundational attribute of models in elementary particles theory, was discovered by physicists in 90-th. Categorical Kähler geometry is deeply related to such models. Partition  functions in physical theories and generating functions for geometric invariants of manifolds are special functions such as Borcherds products or elliptic hypergeometric integrals determining Lorentzian Kac–Moody algebras, Seiberg duality and mathematical invariants of manifolds standing behind these theories.

The concept of Mirror symmetry creates new mathematical disciplines and new way of thinking in theoretical physics. The next steps in the theory of fundamental interactions in the Nature are closely related to the development of these disciplines and new ideas in mathematics and theoretical physics. We propose to open a new multidisciplinary laboratory in order to focus the research of specialists in different mathematical domains like geometry, topology, number theory and automorphic forms, Lie algebras and mathematical physics on the major theoretical problems in mathematics and physics related to Mirror symmetry. Besides scientific achievements this proposal will have a broad impact on Russian Mathematics and on Russian science in keeping their leading position in the world.

The Homological Mirror Symmetry conjecture stated by Kontsevich relates objects in two different mathematical worlds. One is the world of complex geometry, which is fairly robust and rigid, the other is the world of symplectic topology, which is a kind of flabby and has a lot of wiggle space in it, and is hard to pin down. The conjecture is that every symplectic manifold has a mirror in the complex geometry world and that an invariant of the symplectic manifold, known as the Fukaya category, is the same as an invariant called the derived category of its mirror space. Homological Mirror Symmetry conjecture is one of the most fundamental conjectures of modern mathematics bringing as well new methods in theoretical physics.

In this project we plan to capitalize on geometric consequences of Homological Mirror Symmetry and develop the following theories:

1.            Categorical Kähler Geometry;

2.            Theory of Perverse Sheaves of Categories and its parallel with Nonabelian Hodge theory and integrable systems;

3.            Categorical Lefschetz theory;

4.            Theory of categorical multiplier ideal sheaves.

On this basis we plan to find

1.            a connection between automorphic forms and categorical Noether–Lefschetz loci;

2.            a connection between automorphic forms and partition functions from the new prospective of categorical Kohler Geometry

and to construct

1.            classification of Lorentzian Kac–Moody algebras, corresponding automorphic forms, string partition functions and mirror symmetry;

2.            classification of Seiberg dualities and related elliptic hypergeometric function identities.

Leading scientist

katzarkov l00 

Katzarkov Ludmil Vasilev

 

Date of Birth: 19.12.1961

Citzenship: United States, Bulgaria

Academic degree and title: Ph.D.

Field of scientific interests: Algebraic Geometry, Homological Mirror Symmetry.

Job Title: University of Miami, Coral Gables, FL

Academic recognition:

Katzarkov have got several distinguished prizes such as Sloan Fellowship, NSF Career Award, Clay Fellowship, Simons Fellowship. Since 2008 he is a main organizer of big annual conference in Miami and a series of conferences and congresses. Katzarkov is one of organizers of the project Simons Collaboration (2015-2020), Miami-Harvard-UCBerkeley-Columbia-UPenn (10 millions USD). Under his supervision at least 11 students defended PhD; now they are either have permanent positions or are postdocs. He also hosted 26 postdoscs.

In the last 10 years Katzarkov has written 39 papers, many of which were published in highest level journals. Katzarkov has collaborated with three Fields medal winners: Borcherds, Donaldson, Kontsevich. Katzarkov covers several areas with his research – from classical algebraic geometry to most modern categorical methods, and symplectic geometry, dynamical and integrable systems. This has allowed him to bring new unexpected approaches to classical old problems – e.g. the solution of Shafarevich’s conjecture for linear groups, connection of Moishezon program with theory of perverse sheaf of categories, dynamical systems for categories.

Back to top

МЕГАГРАНТЫ

Лаборатория зеркальной симметрии

О лаборатории

Наименование проекта
Зеркальная симметрия и автоморфные формы

№ договора:

14.XXX.31.0050

Наименование организации
Федеральное государственное автономное образовательное учреждение высшего образования "Национальный исследовательский университет "Высшая школа экономики"

Область научных исследований
Математика

Основной целью проекта является геометризация теории категорий, а его исходная точка — гипотеза гомологической зеркальной симметрии, сформулированная Концевичем. Это одна из самых фундаментальных гипотез современной математики. “Экспериментальную” базу гипотезы составляет открытая физиками двойственность (зеркальная симметрия) между суперконформными теориями поля. Проект направлен на развитие нового прорывного направления в математике — категорной кэлеровой геометрии. Эта новая яркая идея реализуется в работах Кацаркова, Концевича, Симпсона.
Зеркальная симметрия, как основа построения моделей теории элементарных частиц была открыта физиками в 90-х годах. Категорная кэлерова геометрия глубоко связана с этими моделями. Статистические суммы в физических теориях и производящие функции геометрических инвариантов многообразий являются специальными функциями, такими как произведения Борчердса или эллиптические гипергеометрические интегралы, определяющие лоренцевы алгебры Каца–Муди, двойственность Зайберга и математические инварианты многообразий, стоящих за всеми этими теориями.
Концепция зеркальной симметрии порождает новые математические дисциплины и новый взгляд на теоретическую физику. Следующие шаги современной теории фундаментальных взаимодействий в природе тесно связаны с развитием этих математических и физических дисциплин. Главной целью планируемой мультидисциплинарной лаборатории будет объединение усилий специалистов из различных областей, таких как геометрия, топология, теория автоморфных форм и алгебр Ли, теория чисел, математическая физика, для решения основных теоретических задач математики и физики, связанных с зеркальной симметрией. Кроме чисто научных достижений проект будет иметь сильное влияние на российскую математику, сохраняя ее лидирующее положение в мире.
Гомологическая зеркальная симметрия — концепция, сформулированная Концевичем, связывает объекты из разных областей математики. Первая область — это комплексная геометрия, являющееся очень жесткой наукой, а вторая — симплектическая топология, объекты которой, напротив, допускают большую свободу деформаций, что затрудняет их фиксацию. Гипотеза гомологической зеркальной симметрии утверждает, что каждое симплектическое многообразие имеет двойственный объект в комплексной геометрии, такой что основной его симплектический инвариант, категория Фукая, совпадает с другим основным инвариантом, производной категорией, располагающийся на двойственной стороне в области комплексной геометрии. Гомологическая зеркальная симметрия является одной из самых фундаментальных гипотез современной математики, а ее методы превращаются в новый язык современной теоретической физики.
В ходе выполнения проекта предполагается реализовать стратегические геометрические следствия гомологической зеркальной симметрии и развить следующие теории:
1. категорная кэлерова геометрия;
2. теория превратных пучков категорий и ее параллель с неабелевой теорией Ходжа и интегрируемыми системами;
3. категорная теория Лефшеца;
4. теория категорных мультипликативных идеалов.
На их основе мы предполагаем установить
1. связь между автоморфными формами и категорной теорией Нетера–Лефшеца;
2. связь между автоморфными формами и статистическими суммами с новой точки зрения категорной кэлеровой геометрии
и осуществить
1. классификацию лоренцевых алгебр Каца–Муди, соответствующих автоморфным формам, струнным статистическим суммам и зеркальной симметрии;
2. классификацию двойственностей Зайберга и связанных с ними тождеств эллиптических гипергеометрических функций.

Ведущий учёный

katzarkov l00 

ФИО: Кацарков Людмил Василев

 

Дата рождения 12.12.1961

Гражданство
США, Болгария

Ученые степень и звание
Доктор философии

Место работы

Университет Майами

Область научных интересов

Алгебраическая геометрия, гомологическая зеркальная симметрия.

Достижения и награды

Кацарковым был получен ряд престижных наград, таких как Sloan Fellowship, NSF Career Award, Clay Fellowship, Simons Fellowship. С 2008 года он является главным организатором большой ежегодной конференции в Майами, а также ряда других конференций и конгрессов. Он является одним из руководителей проекта Simons Collaboration.

За последние 10 лет Кацарков написал 39 статей, многие из которых напечатаны в ведущих журналах. Среди его соавторов три лауреата медалей Филдса – Бордчердс, Дональдсон, Концевич. Интересы Кацаркова лежат во многих областях математики, от классической алгебраической геометрии до самых современных категорных методов, а также в симплектической геометрии, динамических и интегрируемых системах. Это позволило ему найти новые неожиданные подходы к классическим проблемам, таким как гипотеза Шафаревича для линейных групп, связь программы Мойшезона с теорией превратных пучков категорий, динамическими системами категорий.

Representations of fundamental groups whose Higgs bundles are pullbacks
Katzarkov, L. & Pantev, T. 1994 In : Journal of Differential Geometry. 39, 1, p. 103-121 19 p.

Nilpotent groups and universal coverings of smooth projective varieties
Katzarkov, L. Feb 1997 In : Journal of Differential Geometry. 45, 2, p. 336-348 13 p.

Symplectic four-manifolds and projective surfaces
Bogomolov, F. & Katzarkov, L. 1998 In : Topology and its Applications. 88, 1-2, p. 79-109 31 p.

On the universal coverings of algebraic surfaces
Katzarkov, L. & Ramachandran, M. Jul 1998 In : Annales Scientifiques de l'Ecole Normale Superieure. 31, 4, p. 525-535 11 p.

Families of K3 surfaces
Borcherds, R. E., Katzarkov, L., Pantev, T. & Shepherd-Barron, N. I. Jan 1998 In : Journal of Algebraic Geometry. 7, 1, p. 183-193 11 p.

Back to top