Attraction of the leading scientists to Russian institutions of higher learning, research organizations of the governmental academies of sciences, and governmental research centers of the Russian Federation

Laboratory for organic-inorganic materials nanophotonics

About Laboratory

Grant Agreement No.: 14.Y26.31.0010

Project name: Organic-inorganic materials with integrated nanophotonic structures for advanced optical devices

Name of the institution of higher learning: Saint Petersburg National Research University of Information Technologies, Mechanics and Optics

Fields of scientific research: Materials Technology, Nanotechnology and Nanomaterials

Project goal:

At the turn of the second and third millennia, humanity has managed to make a huge step toward the development of new materials with unique optical and electronic properties. Organic-inorganic materials with reduced dimensionality (metal-organic frameworks) and perovskites are being actively studied, because they are considered to be emerging stars in the world of material science. On their basis such actively developed devices are developing: optical modulators, solar cells, nonlinear frequency converters, LEDs, etc. On the other hand, there is an alternative approach to the creation of optical materials - artificial materials composed of resonant particles (nanophotonic structures) and having unique optical properties, which does not occur in natural materials. Such nanophotonic structures enable light localization and its effective manipulation at the nanoscale (much smaller than the wavelength). The aim of this project is the creation of new materials for advanced optical devices based on the combination of the advantages of organic-inorganic materials and nanophotonic structures. On the basis of the developed platform, we plan the development of high-performance devices for nonlinear optics and optoelectronics. Achieving this goal will initiate the unique in Russia and even abroad areas of research: nanophotonics of hybrid materials that combines the advantages of organic-inorganic materials for light control at the nanoscale. Importantly, as materials for nanophotonic structures are mainly used dielectrics with high refractive index (higher than 3), which have low dissipative losses and strong magnetic optical response at optical frequencies, in contrast to metallic nanostructures. Realization of the proposed research program will be based on the years of experience of leading foreign scientists in the field of synthesis and characterization of new nanomaterials and optoelectronic devices, as well as on a well-developed infrastructure of ITMO University to conduct the research in the field of nanophotonics, optoelectronics and nanotechnology.

Leading scientist

Захидов А.А 

Zakhidov Anvar Abdulakhadovich

 

Date of Birth: 02.05.1953

Citzenship: Russia, USA

Academic degree and title:  Ph.D. Physics

Job Title: University of Texas at Dallas

Field of scientific interests: Nanomaterials, excitons, nanophotonics

Academic recognition:

1. Currently Managing Editor of the International Journal of Nanoscience (2002-), Co-Editor of special volumes of Synthetic Metals (1993), and on the editorial board of Molecular Materials (since 1990-)

2. Since 1997, Co-PI of several programs that were each government (DARPA, NASA) or internationally (NEDO-Japan) funded at average level of $1-3 M. These programs were international in scope, and involved companies as well as universities.

3. Serving on the International Advisory Board of the International Conferences on Synthetic Metals, ISCM (1988-) and International Topical Conference on Optical Probes of Conjugated Systems (1991-)

4. Strong focus on developing new curriculum for courses on nanoscience, such as “Physics of Nanostructures,”, Photonics and Electronics of Nanosystems”, “Topics in Solid State”, “Physics of Photonic Devices” for grad students

5. Strong track record of serving on government panels, conference organization groups.

Back to top

МЕГАГРАНТЫ

Лаборатория нанофотоники органо-неорганических материалов

О лаборатории

Наименование проекта
Органо-неорганические материалы с интегрированными нанофотонными структурами для перспективных оптических устройств

№ договора:

14.Y26.31.0010

 

Наименование организации
Федеральное государственное автономное образовательное учреждение высшего образования "Санкт-Петербургский национальный исследовательский университет информационных технологий, механики и оптики"

Область научных исследований
Технологии материалов, нанотехнологии и наноматериалы

На рубеже второго и третьего тысячелетий человечеству удалось сделать громадный шаг в области создания новых материалов с уникальными оптическими и электронными свойствами. Среди них сейчас активно исследуются органо-неорганические материалы (в т.ч. с пониженной размерностью): металл-органические каркасы и перовскиты. На основе них активно разрабатываются такие устройства как оптические модуляторы, солнечные элементы, нелинейные преобразователи частоты, светодиоды и др. С другой стороны, существует альтернативный подход к созданию оптических материалов искусственные материалы, состоящие из резонансных частиц (нанофотонных структур) и обладающие оптическими свойствами, не встречающимися у природных материалов. Подобные нанофотонные структуры позволяют локализовать свет и эффективно им управлять на наномасштабе (много меньше длины волны). Целью данного проекта является создание принципиально новых материалов для перспективных оптических устройств на основе сочетания преимуществ органо-неорганических материалов и нанофотонных структур. На основе разработанной платформы планируется в первую очередь разработка высокоэффективных устройств для нелинейной оптики, а также для оптоэлектроники. Достижение данной цели положит начало для уникального в России и даже за рубежом направления исследований нанофотоники гибридных материалов, сочетающей в себе преимущества органических и неорганических материалов для управления светом на наномасштабе. Важно отметить, что в качестве материалов для нанофотонных структур будут в основном использоваться диэлектрики с высоким показателем преломления (более 3), которые имеют низкие диссипативные потери и сильный магнитный оптический отклик на оптических частотах в отличие от металлических наноструктур. Реализация данной цели будет основана на многолетнем опыте Ведущего зарубежного ученого в области синтеза и характеризации новых наноматериалов и оптоэлектроники, а также на хорошо развитой инфраструктуре Университета ИТМО для проведения исследований в области нанофотоники, оптоэлектроники и нанотехнологий.

Ведущий учёный

Захидов А.А 

ФИО: Захидов Анвар Абдулахадович

 

Дата рождения 02.05.1953

Гражданство
Россия, США

Ученые степень и звание
Профессор физики

Место работы

Техасский университет в Далласе

Область научных интересов

Наноматериалы, Экситоны, Нанофотоника.

Достижения и награды

1. В настоящее время является главным редактором журнала International Journal of Nanoscience (2002-), соредактор специальных выпусков журнала Synthetic Metals (1993), и в редакции журнала Molecular Materials (с 1990-)
2. Начиная с 1997 года, со-руководитель нескольких программ, которые были либо внутринациональными (DARPA, NASA) или международными (NEDO-Япония) со средним финансированием около 1-3 млн.долларов.
3. Участник Международного консультативного совета международных конференций по синтетическим металлам, ISCM (1988-) и Международной конференции Оптических зондов конъюгированных систем (1991-)
4. Разрабатывает новые учебные программы для курсов по науке о наносистемах, таких, как "Физика наноструктур", "фотоники и электроники Наносистем "," Избранные главы физики твердого тела твердом"," Физика фотонных устройств" для аспирантов
5. Большой опыт участия в правительственных встречах и организации конференций.

Strong, Transparent, Multifunctional, Carbon Nanotube Sheets. Zhang, Mei; Fang, Shaoli; Zakhidov, Anvar A.; Lee, Sergey B.; Aliev, Ali E.; Williams, Christopher D.; Atkinson, Ken R.; Baughman, Ray H. NanoTech Institute, The University of Texas at Dallas, Richardson, TX, USA. Science (Washington, D.C., USA) (2005), 309(5738), 1215-1219. (abstract) (full text)

Linear and Nonlinear Wave Propagation in Left Handed Meta-Materials , V.M. Agranovich, Y,R.Shen, R.H.Baughman, A.A.Zakhidov , Phys. Rev. B 2003, Phys. Rev. B69, 165112 (2004).

Carbon Structures with Three-Dimensional Periodicity at Optical Wavelenght, A. Zakhidov, R.H. Baughman, Z.Iqbal, C.Cui, I. Khayrullin, S. Dantas, J. Marti and V. Ralchenko, Science, 282, (1998) 897-901

Superconductivity of “Fullerene-Conducting Polymer” Composite Doped by Alkali Metals A. Zakhidov, H. Araki and K.Yoshino, “Fullerene Polymers and Fullerene Polymer Compositess” ed. By P.Eklund and A.P.Rao, Springer Verlag, Series in Materials, 38, pp.333-368, 1999

Carbon Nanotubes – The Route Towards Applications , R. H. Baughman, A. A. Zakhidov, and W. A. de Heer, Science297, 787-792 (2002).

Metal Sphere Photonic Crystals by Nanomolding, L. Xu, et.al, A. Zakhidov, R.H. Baughman, and J.B. Wiley J. Am. Chem. Soc. 123, 763 (2001).

Carbon Nanotube Actuators , C. Cui, et.al. A. Zakhidov, R.Baughmna, Science 284 , 1340-1344 (1999) .

Back to top